DUI PENALTIES IN SEMINOLE COUNTY
POTENTIAL PENALTIES FOR DUI IN
In Florida, DUI is treated very
seriously and penalties are harsh. DUI
is defined as operating a motor vehicle
while impaired with a blood alcohol
level (BAC) of .08 or higher, a chemical
substance, or a controlled substance. If
you have been arrested for driving under
the influence in Seminole County, you
face a variety of potential penalties,
including jail or prison time, community
service, fines, loss of driving
privileges, and vehicle impoundment.
Florida does not offer the chance of
expunging (removing or sealing from
public access) a DUI record. A DUI
conviction will remain on your driving
record for 75 years.
If you are convicted of DUI, your
penalty may vary depending upon the
circumstances of your case and the judge
who presides in your case. Maximum
penalties also vary based upon your past
history and the skill of your Seminole
County DUI attorney.
- Fines of $250 to $500. If
you have a BAC of .20 or higher,
or were driving with a minor in
the car, your fine will be
anywhere from $500 to $1000.
- Community service. Mandatory
50 hours, or an additional fine
equaling $10 per required hour.
- Probation of no more than
- Jail time of at least eight
hours, but could last up to six
months. For BAC of .20 or
higher, the sentence could last
- Jail time of at least two
years if you kill or injure
- Vehicle impoundment for 10
days (not counted during your
- Driver license revoked for a six
- Fines of $500 to $1,000. For BAC of .20
or higher, or a minor in the car,
minimum $1,000 to $2,000.
- Jail time of not more than nine months.
A BAC of .20 or higher, or driving with
a minor in the car, will require up to
12 months. If it's your second
conviction in five years, a mandatory
10-day jail sentence will be required.
- Vehicle impoundment (if a second
conviction in five years) for 30 days.
- Driver license revoked for six months
minimum. If it's your second conviction
in five years, you'll lose your license
for five years (but will be eligible to
apply for a hardship license after one
- Fines of $1,000 to $2,500. If it's your
third conviction in 10 years, you'll be
charged $2,000 to $5,000.
- Jail time. Mandatory 30 days if it's
your third conviction in 10 years. If
it's outside the 10-year limit, up to 12
- Vehicle impoundment (third conviction in
10 years) for 90 days.
- Driver license revoked for a minimum
five years. If it's your third
conviction in 10 years, a minimum of 10
years revocation will apply.
Fourth or Subsequent Conviction
- Fines of $1,000 minimum; with BAC of .20
or higher, minimum of $2,000 fines. No
- Jail time of up to five years.
- Driver license revoked―mandatory
permanent revocation. You won't ever be
eligible for hardship reinstatement.
Those who are convicted of DUI may also
be required to complete DUI-related
courses or have an ignition interlock
device installed and monitored, at their
If you have been arrested for DUI in
Seminole County, an experienced lawyer
can determine the best possible strategy
to help reduce or eliminate potential
penalties. A strong defense team may be
able to mitigate the effects of a drunk
If you found this information useful please hit the like button: